What’s Your Life Motto and Why?

My last post was title Why Nursing because that was one of my essay questions for an application I had been filling out. The other essay question I had to answer was What’s Your Life Motto and Why. I posted the question on facebook and it was really cool to see what people posted. Here are a few of my favorites:

  • Rejoice Always
  • Everything happens for a reason
  • LET’S GOOOOOOOOO
  • If I accomplish only one thing today, let it be that I showed love to every person I could
  • Everything is gift
  • In Christ I am free

These were the ones that got me thinking and lead me to what I actually wrote and submitted, which is what the rest of this post will be. Happy reading!

What is your life motto and why?

Po35a21c477d10fe88219d0ddfc2076dd2pe Benedict XVI once said “But you were not made for comfort, you were made for greatness”. I’m a person who always strives to do better, to be better. It is easy to get comfortable with ourselves and our state of life, especially once one has achieved particular goals. However, I have never been one to settle for mediocrity.

As a runner, I’ve learned to persevere and endure. I fight to improve my running. Over the 4+ years I’ve been in college I’ve completed three half marathons. My first one I kind of trained for, but not very well. My second one I started off training well, but got injured in the middle, so I had to take a break to heal. I was able to run the race, but the break in training did not help my ability to perform. For my most recent race I cut twenty minutes off my last time and completed the race without having to take a walking break. I attribute this improvement to the dedication I had to running and consistently cross training as well, striving to build up my mileage, strengthen my core, and improve my posture.

The lessons I have learned from running long distance has integrated into many different aspects of my life. Where I see it most is in practicing my Christian faith. I’m very active in my church, and in different leadership roles. In my own relationship with God, I am always striving to love better. By that I mean, to love others well. It’s easy to care for people in the way I prefer to care for people, but it’s more important for us to love people in the way they best receive love.

In a world that is constantly evolving, changing, improving, and growing it is important to be willing to grow. I don’t want to be just an okay Christian. I don’t want to be just a mediocre runner. I don’t want to be just a good nurse. I want to be a great Christian. I want to be a great runner. I want to be a great nurse. I want to be the best person I can be. When we get too comfortable where we are we grow complacent, and we stop striving for greatness. I hold onto the quote of Pope Benedict XVI as a life motto because I never want to be a person who is complacent, I strive to achieve the greatness I know I was made for.

 

Leave a Reply

