Be Satisfied

The other day I got a letter from a friend who is serving this year, so we’ve been exchanging letters for the last 2 years that she has been serving, and it’s such a gift to see the way the Lord speaks to us through each other though we’re hundreds and hundreds miles apart. In her letter she included a letter kinda thing that circulates around Christian communities about being satisfied in the Lord. And I love it a lot, but I realized how much it fixates on being satisfied in God while waiting on a significant other to show up in your life, and I didn’t like that aspect of it. So I was inspired to write my own version and asked the Lord to inspire the words in my prayer time this morning so I’m going to share it with you all.

 

Be satisfied in me, my child
Each day you try to fill the void of your heart
with many things of this world
But these things are passing
They will not satisfy you
They will not fulfill you
Only I can do that
When your heart aches to be loved
I am lavishing my love on you
When you desire to be intimately known
I am waiting for you
I want you to cling to me
When you are anxious & afraid
I am waiting to comfort & console you
Come to me, my child

I knit you in your mother’s womb
I know your every bone
I know the number of hairs on your head
I know your gifts,
for I gave them to you
I know your flaws,
I gave you those too
Your flaws, your imperfections
They make you beautiful
They make you unique
They make you, YOU

So know, my dear little one
I am waiting for you to come to me
I want you to be satisfied by me
It is my great desire to satisfy you
I LOVE YOU

Love,

your Heavenly Father

Leave a Reply

