To Those in Ministry

This is a post that has been brewing for a while, I just haven’t been able to find the right words, but I’ve been realizing how blessed I am by the men and women who have been leaders on ministry teams in my life. Mind you, I’ve served in my own variety of ways in ministry too (RCIA sponsor, bible study leader, youth group core team, bible study oversight team, etc), which all the more has inspired me to write this as I’ve realized just how much people did for me.

To youth minsters, formation pastors, community leaders, priest, and lay missionaries thank you. Thank you for your service to the Church. Thank you for your dedication to each of us. Thank you for the sacrifice of your sleep and yourself. Thank you for freely choosing to give of your time and yourself to listen to me talk about my broken heart, my healed heart, my shattered prayer life, my exploding prayer life. Thank you for holding me accountable, and making sure I get to mass.

Thank you for being my Catholic family, for “raising” me in the Catholic church. Thank you for teaching me how to pray. Thank you for calling me out, even though I didn’t/don’t always receive it well.

Thank you for teaching me that my identity rests in who I am as a daughter of God, and that I don’t have to earn God’s love or give Him a list of all the things I’ve done for him in order to be loved by him.

Thank you for loving me so well, even when I rejected it. Thank you for showing me you care and teaching me that I matter. Thank you for helping me to see my gifts and giving me opportunities to cultivate them.

Thank you for listening me talk to you about the same thing every week for a year and a half. Thank you for not giving up on me, for teaching me hope.

Most of all, thank you for your prayer. There is nothing better you could have done for me than to pray for me, for my salvation, for my healing. Thank you for your yes to the Lord, to serving Him, to loving him, to sharing His love with others.

Your work and dedication to each of us is greatly appreciated. I would not be the woman I am today if it weren’t for the men and women who have led me, prayed with and for me, inspired me, taught me, didn’t give up on me, pastored me, held me accountable. And I know countless men and women who I think would say the same thing — we would not be the men and women we are if it were not for your love, faithfulness, dedication, and service to us and most of to the Lord.

If it weren’t for you, I probably wouldn’t be Catholic and wouldn’t have this life that I love so much — so thank you.

Leave a Reply

