Faithful

A couple years ago one of my dear friends made me a painting for Christmas, and there was a letter written on it. As the Lord has been further convicting me and teaching me of His faithfulness I wanted to share what the words are, so here ya go!

I wanted him to carry me like a little ball, so valueless that it can be thrown on the ground, kicked about, pierced and left lying in a corner, or pressed close to his heart if He wants. So I’m going to work as hard as I can to make a bridal gown enriched with diamonds and jewels of every kind. Well, I am not appalled; I bear in mind that little children are just as pleasing to their parents asleep as awake; that doctors put their patients to sleep while they perform operations, and that after all, ‘The Lord knoweth our frame. He remembereth that we are but dust.’ Your adornment should not be an external one: braiding hair, wearing gold jewelry, or dressing in fine clothes, but rather the hidden character of the heart expressed in the imperishable beauty of a gentle and calm spirit/disposition, which is precious in the sight of God. Find your delight in the Lord who will give you your hearts desire. Do not give into sadness, torment not yourself with brooding; gladness of heart is the very life of man, cheerfulness prolongs his days. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; in the rivers you shall not drown. When YOU walk through fire you shall not be burned; the flames shall not consume you. Oh God, who’s might is over all, deliver me from my fear. Tomorrow you shall have what you need for tomorrow. Each moment is being seen to by heaven. I stretch out my hands to you, I thirst for you like a parched land. Amen, so be it to all that you ARE doing in my soul. The light from her ‘gentle sun’ had received the ‘little flower’, delivered once for all from her cruel enemy, she was alive again. The dark winter was over and the rain was gone. If you desire to sit on his right hand you must drink the chalice which he has drunk himself. You are PRECIOUS in my eyes, and glorious, and I love you. My refuge and fortress, my God in heaven, I trust. Bloom where you are planted. Be deeply peaceful.  

Leave a Reply

