Approach the Lord Fearlessly

For the last couple weeks there has been this underlying theme in my prayer, all stemming from 2 Corinthians 12:9:

My grace is sufficient for you for power is made perfect in weakness. I will rather boast most gladly of my weaknesses, in order that the power of Christ may dwell with me. 

Each week the Lord has been further revealing to me my weaknesses and my sins. I think that we often find it easy to think “oh well, I don’t have any of these “big” sins, so I’m good.” But in reality, we are weak. We fail to love and that is sin. We fail to be joyful, and that is sin. We fail to proclaim Christ, and that is sin. And as I’ve come to see more of my weakness, I find myself discouraged. I don’t want to be weak or to be broken. I like feeling like I have my life together in a pretty picture. But the reality is that I am not perfect, and neither are you, and I want to talk about why knowing and embracing our weakness is good.

Yesterday I listened to a talk by Fr. Mike Schmitz. He’s maybe my favorite priest to listen to… and yesterday he talked about fear and fearlessness. Fear of the Lord is a gift of the spirit, it is a gift of being so in awe of the goodness of the Lord that we despise displeasing Him. O Lord, pour this gift upon me. May I always be so in awe of you that I fear displeasing you!

He then talked about my patron saint, St Teresa of Avila. St Teresa recognized her own wretchedness, and felt so disgusted with her faults that she did not want to approach the Lord. She thought she could not have deep union with Christ because of her wretchedness, and it prevented her from seeking the Lord for a time. Then a wise priest informed her that it is because we are weak, wretched, and broken that we can approach the Lord. It is because of our faults and imperfections that we need the Lord.

We need to approach the Lord FEARLESSLY. 

What do I mean by fearless? Well, as Fr Mike defined it, to approach the Lord fearlessly is to approach Him with our brokenness. It is to come to the Lord and say I am broken. I am weak. I failed you today. Have mercy on me. To sit fearlessly before the Lord is to allow the light of the Lord to touch the dark places of your heart that you don’t want anyone to see, not even Christ.

It is when we approach the Lord fearlessly that we are freed! 
It is when we approach the Lord fearlessly that we are healed!
It is when we approach the Lord fearlessly that He fills us!
It is when we approach the Lord fearlessly that we gain deeper union with Him! 
It is when we approach the Lord fearlessly that the Father dwells within us! 

May we not be afraid to approach the Lord in our weakness, wretchedness, brokenness, loneliness, sinfulness, and frailness! May we seek the mercy of the Lord! May we boast in our weakness so the power of Christ can dwell within us!

Leave a Reply

