My Body is a Temple

I’ve been thinking about adding this as another topic I blog about, and I decided that it is a good thing and writing about it will probably be helpful. I’m not sure what it’ll look like or how often I’ll write about, but I am gonna roll with it for now…

So — about a month or so ago I decided to join a gym. I woke up with a headache …again… This is a frequent occurrence in my life – I had a chronic migraine for 6 mos 2012-2013. And it was awful. It sucked to be in constant pain for 6 mos, especially pain in my head. So since then, I’ve learned at a fairly young age (I was 19 when all this started) how important it is to take care of our bodies.

In the fall I trained for my 3rd half marathon and it was great. I had the least amount of headaches I’d ever had since this stuff all started, so when in February I started getting headaches again I knew some things needed to change. I needed to start working out again, I needed to stop ordering food in all the time, and I needed to start treating my body as the temple that it is!

The thing is — I live in Ohio. We have winter here. The only way I know how to work out confidently + comfortable is running, but I knew I needed to be incorporating other ways of exercise into my life. So I started searching for a gym, and soon found one that was basically what I was looking for. It’s small. The staff there know you and greet you by name, ask you about your day, etc. You feel welcomed. They also have what they call SmartStart sessions and you get 6 of those where you are given 6 different workouts and then you also talk about diet, and take all your starting measurements- weight, BMI, % body fat, etc. In addition to that they offer classes. I went into visit and ended up signing up that day. And I don’t regret it.

I was having headaches, feeling crappy, not feeling comfortable in my own skin, etc. But there’s more to it than just that —

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own. – 1 Corinthians 6:19

c28e095c9ac68333b332578c084ebe7bOur bodies are a temple of the Holy Spirit. When we receive communion Jesus Christ our Eucharistic King comes to dwell in our hearts! He DWELLS WIHTIN US! We need to treat and care for our bodies just as we treat and care for our souls. I go to mass at least on Sundays, usually more, I pray every morning when I wake up and throughout my day, I try to go to confession ~1/month. I do all these things to prepare my heart and my soul. But if I’m eating wings and pizza most nights for dinner, and sitting watching tv I’m not caring for body, where Christ dwells and that Christ uses.

If I make time to care for my heart, soul, and mind each day, surely I can make time to care for my body too! Are you caring for you to the best of your ability so that you can best serve Christ?

I know that in the last month as I’ve been starting this journey I’ve learned I’m stronger than I realize. An afternoon lag that was once fixed by a cup of coffee can often be fixed by a good workout. Eating healthy, nutritious food is really really important. How you treat your body Monday is going to effect your workout Tuesday. My anxiety has decreased. My stress is better managed. It’s okay to be human and eat food you enjoy or food that is “unhealthy” but it should be a treat, not the norm. I’m noticing my confidence slowly coming back. I also notice I desire instant gratification – I want to do a hard workout and feel, look, be skinnier.

But this is not a journey about looks, this is a journey about treating my body as the gift that it is, it’s about learning and building my strength, it’s about embracing my dignity and learning to value my worth. So here’s to learning what it means to treat my body as a temple.

Leave a Reply

